Free Agent

As of December 21st, I have been working on my own. I got laid off due to a restructuring, and I agreed not to announce it until after the New Year. So, technically, I’m unemployed (I guess). Or not, since then I have been working on some consulting/ contract gigs; including, dum da da dum, the third annual:

Which is absolutely fantastic and probably a perfect match for my eclectic skill set.  And, no, I didn’t come up with the name, though I heartily endorse it!

Aside from the website (which is still in progress as details come in), I’ve been working on their social media/ web presence and PR activities.  For more information on the Crawl (especially if you’re in the region!), be sure to visit the Rose City Yarn Crawl website, and their many social media accounts.  Our goal for this year is 2012 Likes on Facebook, just in case you haven’t seen it (hint,hint).  A few items I just have to share, if you’re thinking about joining in the fun:

  • There are over 50 sponsors contributing to the Prize Baskets, including some favorites like Madelinetosh and Namaste.  We’re overwhelmed by the number of companies participating as sponsors this year.
  • 19 shops in the Portland Metropolitan Area makes this the second largest yarn crawl in the country.  Not bad, eh?
  • The events list is amazing and includes trunk shows by local artisans and national companies.  I refuse to pick favorites!
  • The Oregon rideshare service Drive Less Connect created a special carpooling event tool for Rose City Yarn Crawl participants to use for creating and organizing carpools.

Anyway.  As I continue to look for a FT or PT job, if you see anything that might be up my alley (knitting/ textiles, marketing, pr, web stuff, etc.), I’d love a head’s up!  Until then, I’m going to try and devote as much time as possible to Rose City Knits and another project I’m working on (details coming soon).

Leave a Reply

