Mmm… lanolin

It may be wierd and freakish, but I love the smell of an unwashed fleece.  I love the fact that it came from a real, live creature somewhere and not an oil field, and that I’m participating in a tradition that is over 20,000 years old.  Call me sentimental, but it’s the truth.  And, knowing this, you can probably guess how I reacted today when I found this in my mail pile after work today:

The Fleece & Fiber Sourcebook

…[An unbelievable 400+ page guide to any and all animal-produced fibers coming from sheep, goats, camelids, and more!  I spent quite some time pouring over it before I remembered my duty as a blogger.]…

…PLUS the Fleece & Fiber Sourcebook Sampler kit available through the Spinning Loft (my new favorite web store to stalk), including (but not limited to) 1 oz samples of Qiviut, Cashmere, Black Welsh, Clun Forest, Southdown, and soooo many more (19 in total).  Opening this box was such a refreshing change after the past two months of tech-centric madness:

Mmm.  Lanolin.  Of course, I can’t start in on these gems until I return from TNNA, where I shall be releasing some other gems:

(just in from the printer!)

Which, while lovely, don’t have much of a lanolin scent or woolly feel.  But they are so neat and shiny.

Even though I can’t play with my sampler kit now, at least I have something to look forward to after the show.  Maybe I should do a blog series about each fiber.  Would anyone be interested?  I could cover the process of cleaning it, carding or combing it, and then spinning it.  Thoughts?  Yay, nay?  Don’t care?

Lastly, in other news (before I collapse), I just created a page for my new line Rose City Knits on facebook:

As part of a collaborative effort between myself and my poor overworked coder to get the Rose City Knits website up and running before the Show (we’re getting close, honest!).  If you feel so inclined, I’d be ever so appreciative if you’d Like it – if only to get rid of the set-up message ;P

Tomorrow I get to pack and then I fly out Thursday morning at 6 am (not much looking forward to that!).  I’ve just cast on a new traveling sock (my Flocked Sock pattern, in fact*) that I might just geek out with and try and get as many people to hold as possible.  I’m going to be such an obvious rookie.  Keep your fingers crossed that I don’t come across as a total dork!

*What?  I want a pair for me.

One thought on “Mmm… lanolin

  1. penny

    i love how we are reading the same books these days, though i am jealous about tnna.

    isn’t the sourcebook amazing? mine was a surprise thank you gift that arrived Friday. i cannot stop flipping through the many pages. it is the best of all my fibre reference books kicked up a notch (or three) with great photographs.

    i would enjoy reading a series about the fibres. I’ve been trying to resist Beth’s siren call until i spin down more of my stash.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

