A little burnt.

May has been, and continues to be, a weird (and sometimes hideous) month.  Last week I broke down and cried at work (in front of other people, heaven help me).  The worst was saved for later, though, as I witnessed a car hit a kid on a bike over the weekend.  The accident on Saturday was, without a doubt, one of the most traumatic and heart-wrenching experiences in my life.  But, before I go any further, the child in question seems to be okay.

The experience did reaffirm my faith in humanity more than a bit.   The kid was immediately set upon by a dozen adults (myself included) who kept him still and comfortable, called the police and TriMet (he was lying on the MAX tracks),  redirected traffic, and even comforted the poor driver who hit him.   Everyone did everything perfectly and he was in an ambulance within minutes.  But, gawd, I spent half the day shaking and just feeling battered.  My inner mammal was so affected by seeing a child hurt.   I’m still in shock, a bit, to be perfectly honest, and a little drained.

After Opus calmed me down (it took her a little while), we knit for a bit (though I had to rip mine out the next day, I’m sure you can imagine how wonky my gauge was):

Sunlight and socks

The only reason I mention it is because I’m knitting with some Starry (you know, the sock yarn with sterling silver strands?) and it’s quite neat.  When my gauge isn’t all over the place, anyway.  New pattern, too.  Maybe, if I ever manage to knit in a straight line again.

Of course, after sitting in the sun for a couple of hours, I am actually suffering from a sunburn.  Which is further impressive because I was wearing a long-sleeved shirt.  Part of my arm, the back of my neck, and my scalp are bright red right now.  And, no, I don’t feel like posting a picture of that.

On Sunday, I hid in the house and didn’t dare venture out.  I knit and finished my sock book.  Well, the patterns.  I need to write an intro and techniques/ skills section.

In the ‘good news’ section of May, I went to a concert last night.  I had bought tickets two months ago and, while I am still very glad I went, it was exhausting being out late on a weeknight.  I wish Vienna Teng, Alex Wong, and Sarah Watkins had been on stage on a weekend night.  Of course, I didn’t get any decent photos of the event and it’s actually kind of hilarious how bad my photos turned out, so I made a collage:

It might have been a concert...

Just so I could share my ineptness with the world at large.

Another (possibly) good thing?  Mum and I have tickets to Kooza, tomorrow night.  Problem is it’s a weeknight, the show starts at 8pm and ends around, oh, 11:30pm.  I am going to be so dead on Thursday.  Fuuun and… not so good.

But, for now, I’m putting May in at a draw.  This is looking to be a roller coaster month.  I have a feeling that the rest of May is going to be much as it has been – me, wandering around in a daze, wondering why these things happen.

Wish me luck.

One thought on “A little burnt.

  1. Sylvia

    Sorry for your stressful May…hopefully it will be better the rest of the month.

    I really, really like the pattern in the sock displayed in the heading of your blog. Would you please share the pattern name? I randomly checked though your flickr photos and did not see it.

    Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

