Proving that I am mad.

Okay, maybe not completely mad. But setting myself up for a little craziness? Without a doubt. I went to Uwajimaya with Opus and her Mum on Saturday (we had a girls day out, ’twas awesome) and hit the little Kinokuniya within. After a little dedicated browsing, I found two gems, Fair Isle Knitting and 100 Aran Patterns.

The 100 Aran Patterns is an amazing stitch dictionary and I didn’t think to take any shots of the unusual cables within (sorry!). But the ISBN # is 9784529022934 if you want to track down your own copy to drool over. If you enjoy cables, this book is for you.

Now, if you enjoy colorwork, or even just looking at colorwork, Fair Isle Knitting (ISBN # 9784529046763) is complete knitting pr0n. Seriously. The patterns are exquisite and the photography is worthy of Rowan magazine or Alice Starmore.

I took some crappy detail shots with my cheap digicam (sorry, didn’t feel like pulling out the big camera) to highlight my favorites:

Kristin and I decided today that this sweater simply MUST be made with Rowan Felted Tweed. It simply calls for it. We cannot refuse it’s siren song much longer.

And then there’s this shawl…

I’m a little scared at how much I want to make it. That says something about my inner level of masochism, doesn’t it?

Anyway, if you’d like some more detail shots, check out my flickr photostream. I think I may have to cast on of these beauties (I have so much fingering yarn that it’s kind of frightening). There are also some just lovely mitten, glove, and hat patterns that I might try out to start with.

And, in the world of lace, I’ve decided to at least try knitting it the traditional way (no mocking) and cast on for a stole (this is a test, remember) using size 2 (2.75mm) 9″ straight needles using the Twig #2 pattern from The Haapsalu Shawl:

That way, if it bombs, I won’t want to hunt down the “master” who gave said advice in the book and do something unmentionable with the straight needles.  It’s also a 12 row repeat, unlike my favorite (and magnificent )40+ row Quatrefoil with Stones pattern.  We’ll see how this goes.

And, finally, I am (un)officially signed up to do a sock booklet for ShibuiKnits, due to be released in June 2010.  At this point, we’re talking 7 – 10 patterns for children, women and men using at least 3 to 4 different yarns.  It’s going to be awesome.  (This has actually been in the works for months, but we’re only just now nailing everything down)

But now I must go, as my chariot awaits.  Tootle-loo!

2 thoughts on “Proving that I am mad.

  1. Rosina

    How is the Haapsalu lace coming? Do you mind if I ask what brand needles you are using? I have this book too and I’m trying to find the right straight needle for the lace…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

