this and that

I’ve been doing a little bit of everything lately. Everything from relearning lessions I should have remembered (and did, but really ignored) to having grand adventures. Here’s two weeks of sporadic photography to prove my point:

Two weeks in review

1. march-snow, 2. too-big, 3. catch-up,

4. half-linen-stitch, 5. winding, 6. grim-countryside,

7. view-from-the-top, 8. socks, 9. spring-landscape

Created with fd’s Flickr Toys.

1: snow in MARCH! Unholy, I tell you. 2 & 3: because I didn’t swatch (yes, I know), my first attempt at Porom was well… huje*.  So I had to rip it out and try anew.  4: Opus’ half-linen stitch socks OTN.  5: helping Lindsay wind a skein of Koigu KPPPM at Jake’s while we held three tables for our en route comrades.  6 – 9: shots from a little road trip we went on to Carlton and Woodland Woolworks.  Everything from the grim and grizzly morning to the glass -enclosed bar at the McMenamins Hotel Oregon to the beautiful afternoon you’d never expect in March.

Next, in this very brusque update, we have Karen’s finally well & truly FINISHED socks:

Socks For Karen

Project specs:

  • Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in “Tuscany”
  • Pattern: I made it up and ShibuiKnits has expressed an interest in it, so I can say too much here.
  • Needles: 2.25mm/ US 1
  • Size: Women’s M (7.5″ circumference)

I quite like them and am earnestly considering knitting a pair for myself.

Next, we have photos of my (also finally!) completed Porom:
Kathmandu Porom (side)

Kathmandu Porom (front)

Specs (really quick, ride is almost here!)

  • Yarn: Kathmandu DK in… natural?
  • Pattern: Porom by Jared Flood (brooklyntweed)
  • Needles: US 5 & 7 (needed to go down a size)
  • Size 22″ circumference

Love it and have already promised to make a store sample as well as another for myself, maybe. We’ll see. The To Be Knit list is getting mighty long. And now I’ve GOT to go. I’ll try and update again this week. Honest.

*anyone get the Pratchett reference there?

One thought on “this and that

Leave a Reply

