See? I remembered it’s Wednesday this time!

A major achievement, believe you me.

Let’s see.  I’m afraid I’ve been a bad blogger and haven’t been photo-documenting things the way I should of.  I’ll be better, promise.  I’ve got tons of handspun to show off (squee) and I’ve just started the sleeve of my second Skif sweater.

I also bought thirteen balls of Rowan Felted Tweed in “Seafarer”, because I want to design a cabled hoody.  It’s been plaguing me, honest.  The other day, Dad asked, “What are you thinking about?”

“Designing a cabled sweater.”

I bet it’s not often one gets that reply.

Anyway.  So you’re not completely bored and don’t hate me forever, I bring you historical pretty!

Introducing the Archduchess Marie-Christine of Leschen in her “self-portrait”:

Marie-Christine of Austria

It’s an oil painting housed in the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, Austria. Maria-Christine was the sister of Marie-Antoinette, which is why I rather sincerely doubt that if it is her in the portrait (spinning on a lap-wheel!), she painted this herself. But, hey, it’s what Wikipedia Commons claims, so I’m going with it.

Love the little wheel. It’s just like Ashford’s Charkha, really.  Only better, because it comes with a distaff!  I want one.  Quite cool for the 18th century.  The black silk apron she’s wearing, to protect her from sticky fibers, is also a nice touch.  Makes my spinning apron look quite drab by comparison.

Or it would, if I could actually find the dratted thing.

Ah well.  Tomorrow’s Yom Kippur (tonight is Kol Nidre, but I’m pretending I don’t know that), and I’ve got the day off of work to repent and the like.  I can’t say it will be fun (Yom Kippur never is), but it will be good to do.

That’s everything I’ve got to report at the moment.  But I’ll bring progress photos – and maybe a photo of our mutant basil plant – on the weekend.  Cheers.

2 thoughts on “See? I remembered it’s Wednesday this time!

  1. melanie

    I’m using Yom Kippur to finish knitting projects – more of an offering than atonement – but maybe they’re the same thing?

    I love the painting too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

