overdue update

Sorry, guys, I just haven’t had the energy for blogging lately. I’m hoping we’ll finally get everything settled at work soon so I can return to my normal activities.

In the meantime, here’s a short update. Participated in the Race for the Cure today. Susan G Komen, and all that. Opus works at Pacific Oncology, so she got dragged along by coworkers – and I volunteered to go with her, so she wouldn’t be the only knitter with a wip in hand. Yes, we knit as we went. When she gave me my stuff (official t-shirt, number, etc) on Thursday, I marveled that we were somewhere above 17,000 on the participants list. Wow, I thought, more than 17,000 people in one race??

Ha. Got there at 7 AM and saw:

Race starting line

Some of the numbers were over 60,000. Right. I guess we were registered early.

Of course, despite the thousands of people there, Opus and I managed to attract quite a lot of attention.

“Look at them! Knitting and walking at the same time!”

Opus finally got so frustrated with the constant comments, she finally quipped, “And I can chew gum, too.”

Forgive me, I laughed.

When we got to the finish line, I amused the Pacific Oncology crew by taking a traveling sock photo:

Tavelling sock & race finish line

After that? Oh, I think that’s another post. A long one, sorry. It’s almost bedtime now, actually. Grr.

I’m all over the place right now, so no wip or fo photos, nothing really entertaining in this post. Sorry ’bout that. I do have some substantial progress to report in a number of areas.  I also did something crazy and bought a bag of Rowan Felted Tweed from work, because it was begging me to be a sweater.  It won’t be, any time soon, since I still have several wips to finish, but it’s pretty to look at while I toil away.

One thought on “overdue update

Leave a Reply

