not a bad day

I woke up at 3 pm. I wish I was joking, but I’m not. I took a sleeping pill last night at around 10:30 and by 11pm I was zonked. Not doing that again. My goodness. I knew I was tired (too many caffeine pills for the migraines this week), but I didn’t realise how tired I was.

Anyway. I woke up at 3 and only because (I guess) by then I wasn’t groggy enough to block out my cell’s incessant beeping any longer. Opus had called (4 hours before) and wanted to know if I wanted to do anything.

I did and we agreed to meet at Powell’s. As I was walking to my bus stop (of Doom, yes), I had to pause because of the giant rainbow arched over Keizer. This is why I love having a camera-phone…

Rainbow

How cool is that? I’ve never seen so many rainbows in my life as I have in Oregon in the past 6 years. Spiffy.

I caught the bus shortly thereafter and met Opus in the knitting section of Powell’s. And, oooh, it’s a good thing we met there. Do you know what I got ON SALE today? Handknit Holidays ($11.98!) and Priscilla Gibson-Roberts’ Simple Socks, etc. ($7.98!). I’d squee, but I’m a little squeed out. Even Opus agreed that I simply must make the thigh-high stockings, and the cardinal pullover (for baby T), and the gansey for little D, and the evergreen shawl (all in HH). So, a bunch of projects will be added to the queue on ravelry. And Simple Socks will be a great reference for short-row heels and toes. Coolies.

From there we went to Peet’s for iced beverages (I’ve been in OR too long – everyone there was drinking iced mocha or coffee). And then we wandered into Chinatown for food. Yum. Found a great (and truly authentic) restaurant where we were the only people not talking in Chinese for a good half-hour. We accidentally ordered too much food and had to both take home leftovers. Crazy portion sizes.

Aaand… here I am. I have not knit a single stitch today and have only spent 10 minutes on ravelry. Yet I don’t feel like I’ve been slacking. Maybe it’s the books. Scoring books counts for something, right?

Eh. I’ll knit when I watch Torchwood in a bit. Sorry about the lack of project photos, but I’ve mostly been working on swap stuff or Mona’s Mystery Sock (neider, neider) so I couldn’t post progress photos anyway.

Good thing that rainbow was there.

2 thoughts on “not a bad day

  1. stephieface

    I’m in the same boat being not able to post pictures of stuff I’m working on because of the swap… this is where a bag of squid jerky and children come in handy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

