conceding defeat

I am absolutely exhausted. But I can’t sleep. I took 2 Excedrin earlier (on top of drinking several caffeinated beverages) to ward of a migraine that’s been stalking me for days. The result? No sleep for me. I gave up on rest half an hour ago after lying in bed for well over an hour.

Anyway. To be completely contrary and stubborn, I’m posting the Chartres pattern for free. Pffft! to everyone who thinks I should charge for every single pattern I write. I talked at length with ShiBuiKnits tonight, I’m already guaranteed 4 pattern buys from them and several other designs I showed them have been potentially accepted. I have a meeting set up with them next week to go over the details in, well, detail.

So, what does that mean? I think that means I can afford to give away a pattern or two. Since I’m going to be selling them (ShiBuiKnits) two sock patterns as it is, they really don’t need or want the Chartres pattern that much – esp. when I already had it written up (in PDF form) for a different gauge. Let’s also not forget that I have a half-dozen ideas sketched out for different socks, anyway, that I will be selling to someone.

Right. Back to the point. The Chartres pattern is up and available and free.

We had a lengthy debate at tonight’s Sip’n’Knit on the subject of free patterns. Many people don’t think designers should give away patterns. I dunno. I don’t plan on giving away every pattern I write, but it seems silly to try and charge for them all, too.

I also appreciate how many knitters take the time to write out patterns for the rest of us, without charging even a nominal fee. It’s, like, karmic. One should give as much as one receives. And, anyway, I like writing patterns. It’s good practice and it’s a learning exercise.

One of the patterns I’m probably going to sell to ShiBuiKnits is Clara – a 1920’s felted flapper’s cloche. I got some luscious yarn at Knit/ Purl tonight to make myself one (insider’s discount!); which I’ve promised to try and bring to the meeting next week. To go with the cloche I’ll be making (tomorrow’s looking promising for that), I’ve decided to post another tutorial on how to calculate felting handknits (as well as how to felt handknits by hand). Hopefully I’ll have that done to post by Saturday.

I think that’s everything of merit. At the moment. I’m making tons of progress on the knitting. I have the buttons for the ShiBuiKnits Spocks (got them tonight) and I’m just up to my ears in ideas and patterns. Now all I need is a good night’s sleep.

Anyone want to sneak up behind me with a frying pan?

4 thoughts on “conceding defeat

  1. Yvonne

    I don’t know. I think free patterns make for good advertising. If a person tries your free pattern and likes it then they are more likely to buy a pattern from you. After all even Eunny Jang has free patterns and she is one of the best designers out there.

    Also, I tend to put out free patterns that are either super easy, that most people could figure out or adaptations from somebody else’s pattern that was available for free (printed with permission, of course!).

    Reply
  2. Nicole

    I agree with Yvonne. I think free patterns are good for getting your name out there. When I was a newly re-started knitter, I looked exclusively for free patterns because I wanted to make sure I knew what I was doing and actually enjoyed it before shelling out lots of money for patterns.

    I also agree with you that it’s karmic, and have been thinking about working up a pattern specifically to post free online.

    Reply
  3. Leslie

    I agree. A balance of free and paid are all worth the effort for all parties and for independent designers especially. So glad to hear that ShiBui is interested in more. Can’t wait to see them.

    L

    Reply
  4. penny

    I second (third?) Yvonne and Nicole. There is a balance. I don’t charge for every since tech question I get (nor every minute of it) and I believe my clients are much happier for it. Finding that balance, however, is very very tricky. Especially when you are starting out and need to gain a client base.

    I’m very happy to hear that you have interest in your patterns. Beyond me. ;)

    I’m looking forward to your felting instructions, though I can’t *stop* our front loader so I hope I knit and you tutorial before I next see my mum’s normal washer! (My MIL’s doesn’t get very hot anymore) The one time I tried to felt by hand I was very not happy with it. But then again, I don’t have a washboard anymore. It’s by mum. Maybe I should dig it out? ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

