sock. yarn. crawl.

Three words that were just meant to be put together. Like chocolate and peanut butter.

Maia, my co-conspirator and partner in SKA crime, is visiting PDX this weekend. She asked, some weeks ago, if I would be willing to show her some of the better yarn stores. I’m sure we all are not surprised that I said yes.

Or that I asked other PDX knitters if they’d be interested in crawling with us?

No, I don’t think anyone would be surprised. But, before I get to the mischief we got up to yesterday, I feel I should post a photo of the 4 skeins of ShiBui Sock yarn I was entrusted with on Thursday:

shi-bui

Back to the crawl. We meet up at Abundant Yarn & Dyeworks at 10:30 am. Well, at least that was the plan. Several people (especially the out-of-towners) had trouble finding it. The store’s located on the souther edge of PDX lines, on roads that were based off of goat trails (if you asked me). But, finally, people ended up there safe and sound:

crawlers

Since most of the crawlers are bloggers, it was amusing watching them take pictures of each other, at the same time:

bloggers

Because there were so many of us, and AY&D is so tempting, we fell a bit behind schedule (by, like, an hour). As a group, we raced over to PIX Patisserie to celebrate Judy’s birthday. With my luck, I managed to snap a shot without Judy in it:

PIX

I did, however, manage a shot of my Jane Avril, an almond cake studded with raspberries, cherries and pistachios and with raspberry mousse:

Jane-Avril

Next, we dashed to The Yarn Garden. But we left so quickly (they were low on sock yarn), I forgot to take a pic. From there we went to Twisted, where we spent considerable time because they had just received a new Yarntini shipment and were fully stocked on Woolerina and Knitted Wit (among others).

Tiwsted-PDX

I finally decided on one skein by Knitted Wit, called “1970’s Locker Room”:

1970

By then we were back on schedule and managed to show up at Knit/ Purl on time. Where we found that they had put out cookies, brownies, and iced tea for us. The girls seemed to enjoy this stop:

Knit-Purl

I got the cutest little KA (Kinki Amibari) crochet hook from them. I think it’ll come in handy for casting off toe-up socks and picking up stitches.

From there we girded our loins for the expedition to The Farmhouse Knit Shop. It’s located it Beaverton, and most of us had never been there before. Therefore, most of us were expecting to get horribly lost en route. Luckily we all managed to get there and weren’t too traumatized that we couldn’t dig through all their Blue Moon stock with gusto. I finally settled on two skeins of Socks That Rock Lightweight in “24 Karat”:

STR-24karat

Most of us were exhausted by then, so we said our farewells. Maia was kind enough to drop me off downtown, so I could catch a bus home, before she went to track down her husband.

I’m bad and didn’t write down a list of everyone’s names and blogs (tho, admittedly I knew most of them from their blogs), but Stephania at Moirae Knitting has promised to post a list with links :)

I had a lot of fun and it was really amazing to spend a whole day with knitters just as crazy as I am. We kept getting side-tracked and going off on tangents, it was amazing we ever managed to leave AY&D at all.

Now, I need to go and find a terrarium and food for Fig:

fig

Then I have to wind two skeins of ShiBui and get started on those Spocks. If I don’t get dragged into cleaning out the garage first.

5 thoughts on “sock. yarn. crawl.

  1. Jennfer

    My husband and I were in Portland (from Seattle) last week, on our way to Warm Springs for his conference. I had a list of Portland yarn stores and we became hopelessly lost, and late, looking for them. After calling Knit/Purl, from the wrong side of the river, we finally ended up at that fabulous shop! It was the only yarn store I was able to go to (other than The Stitchin’ Post in Sisters), but it was so worth it! I learned of Knit/Purl through your blog–thank you!! My husband is not so much feeling the love….:)

    Reply
  2. TheBon

    I should think that since the spocks clearly pre-date Wendy’s [S has photos of them from March] that really, the issue would be Wendy’s if either of them cared. However, think of how many patterns have the same name.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

