FO – Baudelaires

Spent much of the day cleaning and scrubbing. Making me tired and sore and without much progress to report. Luckily, I have yet to post the info on the finished baudelaires:

baudelaire - silhouette

Project Specs:

  • Yarn: Knit/Purl’s Shibui Sock in “Orchid”
  • Needles: 2 22″ Addi Turbos, 2.5 mm/ US 1
  • Gauge: 8 sts/ inch in stockinette
  • Size: 7.5″ foot circumference
  • Pattern: Baudelaire by Cookie A.
  • Recipient: ME! (little happy dance)
  • Date started: July 24, 2007
  • Date finished: August 9, 2007

Baudelaires - sideways

baudelaires - frontal

And, umm, moving on. Nearly done with the second Slighty Twisted sock. I’ve promised the pattern to a couple of knitters at Mabel’s, so I’m kinda pushing ahead on it more exclusively. For my diligence, I got a whopping headache in the middle of the heel-flap.

I wonder if there’s a better way to sit or to hold my knitting? Any suggestions? When my neck used to get really bad (not to that point yet), I’d drop-spindle – so I’d be looking up and straining the muscles in the opposite direction. It actually works, I swear. But since I’m trying to get these socks done by next Tuesday… hmph.

(I really want to use my spinning wheel now.)

I did promise Opus a skein of handspun yarn. As a ‘thank you’ for these beauties:

mosaic socks silhouette

See? I managed to take a better picture and everything.

Other news? I have officially decreed that there are TOO MANY lace patterns in the world. Yes, you heard read me correctly. I’ve been working on a new design for a pair of socks using my “Smooshy” yarn, and I’m completely overrun with too many pretty lace patterns.

And, oooh, the yarn and needles I ordered from Knit Picks arrived for the Mystery socks I’m designing for the SKA in January. The needles, in the meantime, could effectively be used on, oh, a pair of Embossed Leaves socks. I mean, we wouldn’t want them to get rusty or lonely in the duration, would we?

No, of course not. There’s nothing more disheartening than a set of depressed DPNs.

3 thoughts on “FO – Baudelaires

  1. amysbabies

    I so completely agree about the lace patterns! I have way to many in my ravelry que. I think if I started right now and worked my whole life, I wouldn’t ever finish!

    Reply
  2. Carol

    Lovely socks.

    Maybe for the knitting position, you need to change the chair you sit in? Or add pillows behind your back so you sit up straighter? Or prop your feet? Little things like that can make a big difference in your body position and comfort.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

