I’m begining to think I suck as a swap organizer

(sigh) Because I was the only handspinner on Craftster with the requisite experience to organize a handspun swap, I offered to do it. It’s been interesting… I’m wondering if all organizers have this trouble, or if I’m just incompetent. Somehow, only a couple of the swappers thought to tell me their DC #’s, when they shipped, etc. I thought I’d mentioned it in the original thread… oh,well. Then… this…

I was a bit worried about my skills at partnering people up. How the heck do organizers do it? So, I went with what people wanted/ were willing to make, favorite colours/ what they had to spin, skill levels, etc. And, I thought I was doing alright. One of my partners sent me a beautiful skein. I just looooove it. But, then I get a really pitiful message from one of the swappers. She’s very disappointed. She sent this:

And recieved this:


According to her, she and her partner corresponded before starting and agreed to make apprx 150 yards of plied yarn for each other, in colours they liked. She got singles, in her not-so-favorite colours. She said she felt horrible about complaining (sound familiar?), didn’t want to punish her partner, but really wanted to explain her problem to someone…

What do I do? I’ve already posted to the moderators, asking if I should arrange for a swap angel or explain to the partner the problem? Any suggestions? I feel completely out of my depth here. I don’t want to embarass anyone, but I do think that the complaint is valid.

I also feel like it’s partly my fault, since I obviously didn’t make certain things about swapping known. The swap was filled with new/ virgin swappers, and I don’t know. I need to go and, like, take a bottle of prozac or something. This is not a pity party, I promise. I just don’t know what to do.

In other news, I got my stitch markers from simplyfussfree (IYP3) and my prezzies from my One Skein partner. I love them all! I promise to post pix later. But, now I’m going to go and knit to make myself feel better.

3 thoughts on “I’m begining to think I suck as a swap organizer

  1. Sachi

    Egads. That thar is Koolaid dyed. Which is fine… but the green is probably neon like you wouldn’t believe. I’m sorry, hon. I don’t have any advice for you.

    I’m afraid that some people are just going to get their feelings hurt in life. Perhaps stopping things now is the best way to head things off. It may turn them off of swaps forever but we truly need only the most serious and honest for such things.

    Reply
  2. Kiri

    The thing is that you really do take a certain amount of risk when you swap… and in agreeing to do a swap you’re showing that you accept that risk. And things happen. People may plan to do something different for their swap partner and end up changing it some for budget/personal/resource reasons. If that’s the case, they did what they could to hang in there an not flake.

    If you look at the situation the opposite way, you can imagine that the person who sent the bulky singles probably likes bright colors (people tend to spin what they like to use/have) and wasn’t entirely happy getting a dark skein of sock weight yarn. They’re just content to have some new yarn and don’t want to make a fuss about it. (Personally, I’d be going that route also- you can always use the yarn to make a gift or something.) After all, it’s a artsy/crafty swap and not a special order.

    Reply
  3. thebon

    I had the ability to organize the swap, but I feared having that happen to me, that’s why I didn’t join up. She did fulfill the swap requirements, so there’s not much you can do there, but if you need someone to send her something [as a private, unofficial angel] let me know. It’ll take a little time since I’m on the other side of the country from my wheel, but I don’t mind doing so. We ended up with two flakers in the scav. hunt swap, one just disappeared before send-outs so we got an angel who actually got to swap with the flaked-on girl, and one who had some problems and we had to arrange an angel. And we spent hours matching people, so don’t blame yourself. Shit happens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

