lanacopia

“an abundance of wool”
… well, loosely translated, anyway.

That about sums up my day. I recieved my order from Knit Picks; 2 skeins of the new Gloss sock yarn (merino/silk!), 2 balls of Essential in petunia, 1 skein of paint-your-own superwash/nylon for sox, 2 balls of Essential in pine for the IYP3 swap, and 3 balls of Elegance in oatmeal (so I can dye it) also for the IYP3 swap. I also got two pair of the size 0 22″ circs.


My review for the Knit Picks needles? I love ’em! They’re perfect for sox. And they’re especially yummy at $5 a pair, instead of $16. I wouldn’t equate them with addi’s, but they’re just below ’em and above every other type of circ needle I’ve tried on sox.

Oh, and the orange skein? That’s a skein of my handpainted homespun for a friend. The first non-swap/ non-family work I’ve done in… egads, that’s embarassing… Anyway, here’s a close-up:


4 oz of ultra-fine (19 microns!) merino at about heavy worsted weight. The top felted a bit when I dyed it, so it was a bit of a pill to spin. But, I think my friend will like it. She loves handspun but refuses to spin. She bribes me with handknit sox, so I can’t complain. And, anyway, I love giving people things. So, I’ll be sending that off as soon as the twist is set.

In other news, I started in on my “Mermaid” Karaoke top. Yummy! I’m spinning it on my super-fast flyer, so it’s very,very fine. Lace-fine. I want to make a shawl. In light of this epiphany, I have decided to give Mum the Oregon lace shawl I’m working on. Really, how many lace shawls do I need? And, she’s been making the appreciated “ooh’s” and “ahh’s”, so.., yeah. Her birthday is coming up ;)

I have a job interview for a Nanny position at 10:30. Any work is good work, right? My Dad gave me a weird look at that. And after that I have to pick up my new loom and passes to the county fair! I’m demo-ing spinning. And, after that I have to go to weaving class. Oy. I better get to sleep…

3 thoughts on “lanacopia

  1. Crimson

    I take it you’re doing the two-circ sock method with your new needles … I’ve only ever used DPNs, so that could be a fun challenge.

    Congrats on all these interviews your getting — I hope they all pan out well and that you get to choose the best!

    Reply
  2. Tamara

    Oh I’m so glad you like the Mermaid Karaoke top – I have 8 ounces to spin. I don’t know what weight to spin it yet because I don’t know what I want to make. I’m not really a shawl knitter. What kind of ply are you going to do???
    Can’t wait to see pictures!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

