pain, the new caffeine

As I wandered around this afternoon, trying to wake up (I stayed up reallyreally late last night to finish knitting the sox), I discovered something. Pain is an amazing caffeine alternative. I didn’t discover this intentionally. But, since my eyes were still closed the way a newborn kitten’s are, I found it out by walking into my steel loft bed head-first. Ow.

So, I am now moderately awake and sporting a little bump on my noggin. Fun.

And so I am posting to my blog in the hopes that it’ll both keep me awake and prevent me from crying from exhaustion.

I stayed up reallyreally late last night for two reasons. One, to finish knitting my sox. And, two, to keep Mum company. She is having a bad reaction to a colonoscopy she had two weeks ago. Long story short, all the bacteria in her gut is gone. Ahwell. Funfunfun.

Back to the sox. It bears mentioning that I was a bit frantic towards the end. And, rightfully so. Since this is the amount of yarn I had left:

No, I am not joking. And, let’s all recall (manically), that I was knitting with handspun. I like to live dangerously.

But, at around 3 am, the knitting part of the socks was done. Blessed be the Knitting G-ds. They favored me. Here they be, ends still unwoven in, flanking the spinning wheel that brought the yarn into existance:

quite soft and comfy too. the sox, not the wheel.

and here’s my next sox project:

I need to go and drink a coke, or espresso, or something…

One thought on “pain, the new caffeine

  1. Jo

    Tell your mom to get some Lactaid at the local pharmacy. Basically is lactobacillus strain (normal gut flora) of good bacteria for digestion. When one has been on antibiotics for a period of time, this will usually set them right. If not, she may have the opportunistic Clostridium dificile taking over where the normal flora is missing. This requires a stool sample for identification and antifungals…Hope this helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

