woot!

Time for me to air-punch, since I have mastered my charkha! Lookie, lookie:


Nearly a spindle full of cotton spun up! (Over my freshly vacuumed carpet, btw – which now has stray bits of cotton fluff everywhere, oh well.) Below the charkha and my cotton is some sock yarn, above the pink sock yarn is my 2-ply cotton. Let me say it again, WOOT!

I remember when Vonnie and I went to a spinning day at Fox Hollow and one woman was spinning cotton on her charkha. Vonnie looked at her and said, “That woman makes spinning cotton look way too easy.” Let me tell ya, it IS that easy on a charkha. I fully give Indian inventors credit for their ingenuity on textile innovations. Just… wow.

Once I remembered that cotton likes to be spun from the fold, it went “whoosh!” and looked so preeeetty. I just looooooooooooove Egyptian cotton. LOVELOVELOVE.

Now, I must resist the urge to by more cotton. I have 8 OUNCES of Egyptian cotton and untold amounts of American cotton, angel wings (70 cotton/ 30 silk), and silk noil to spin up on this thing. Oh, and some angora as well. Ooooh, caaaaaaaaaaaaashmere. I can get cashmere, or WHITE YAK! I saw a white yak booth… I am soooooo claiming some of that.

5 thoughts on “woot!

  1. Sachi

    OMG, you’re worse than me!!! The whole obsessing until you’ve mastered everything about it LOL! Reason number 428 why I DON’T NEED to look at spinning wheels… or drop spindles for that matter. I’ll spend all my time drooling over fiber. But I want you to know that you’re making it really hard for me…. :-

    Reply
  2. peninah

    That is so cool. I am getting in trouble (like sachi) with your spinning yumminess. i have taken out almost every book several NYC libraries have on spinning. And E is refusing to stop by lowe’s/home depot to get something we need b/c I keep asking to get parts to make a cd-spindle (i still want to do the poly-clay one). .. but to spin cotton?

    [sachi, sorry but there is an online how to build your own charka. and i’m trying very hard not to print it out and study the instructions!] ;)

    :D

    Reply
  3. peninah

    er, too eager to post. submit button got ahead of me. ;)

    i’ve been reading up more and more on spinning and seeing more references to cotton and the idea excites me. (more than wool, not that wool isn’t yummy).

    wish i could do some BSG fun. i miss OR. not that i’ve spent much time there, but the time there i enjoyed.

    Reply
  4. TheBon

    I am thrilled that you mentioned the white yak, because some of it came home with me today. Along with some very pretty other fibers. That white yak was ungodly soft, the only fiber I liked better was the pygora…Mmmm…pygora.

    Reply
  5. Leda

    Dude, it looks portable. It’s portable, isn’t it? …just how hard would this thing be to make? Coolage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

